An Education in Class

#BurnItDown

It's complicated.

"Education," 1890, by Louis Comfort Tiffany and Tiffany Studios. “Education” (Chittenden Memorial Window at Yale), 1890, by Louis Comfort Tiffany and Tiffany Studios.

Dedicatory preface: This post is dedicated to the anonymous steel worker from Worcester, Massachusetts, who helped me get to New York City in September 1998. You brought me to the bus station in Worcester and made sure I had cigarettes (I’ve since quit smoking—don’t worry!), snacks, and maybe $20 cash. You did not harm me. You could have taken advantage of me, and you did not. I asked you how I would pay you back and you told me: “Just dedicate your first movie to me.” Spoiler alert: I did not become what I thought I would become back when you asked that I dedicate my first movie to you. I am not a filmmaker. My journey, of which you were an integral part, is chronicled in the post that follows. You carried me on one…

View original post 7,794 more words

2 thoughts on “An Education in Class

Leave a Reply

